Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2005-06-14 - 9:40 p.m.

Viva Salt Lake City

It ain�t Vegas, that�s for sure. I was supposed to go to Las Vegas for a tradeshow in October but ended up switching because it�s the same weekend as Grampy�s 90th birthday party, so here I am in SLC for the national OB nursing show.

It was a good show, but a long few days. I flew out on Saturday in the middle of my own little pool party get together thing with everyone drinking beer and having fun (ok, a pool party of 6 adults and 2 kids but still�) My partner in crime really got on my nerves by this afternoon and I was kind of glad to see him go as he is VERY smart about everything. I about killed him twice�so he�s lucky to have boarded a plane while he was still standing.

I went to some place that I don�t know the name of for one of the yummiest Mexican meals on the planet � confetti jumbo prawns with crab chilaquiles. FYI, these prawns were butterflied and each about the size of a chicken breast, then dipped in a red tortilla chip batter and baked. The chilaquiles was tortilla strips, REAL crab, cheese, cream and some other stuff. I wish I was super fat with a big old tummy instead of mildly chubby with a chubby tummy so I could have eaten it all. Go figure�the one time my damn colitis doesn�t flare up before I finish a meal. Did I mention I could have gotten myself into a lot of trouble with their fresh watermelon margs? Good thing this is Salt Lake City.

Yesterday, KIAC (Know it all coworker) and I rented a car and drove to Park City. We stopped at the Olympic Park where they did all the ski jumping and the like. KIAC wanted to try the ski jumping but oh rats, it�s only available on the weekends. Then we headed to Park City, which is really a cute town. We looked in the shops, then KIAC decided he needed to ride the zip line down the mountain. After getting BAD information from the cognitively challenged chair lift ticket seller, we headed up the mountain, about a 20 minute chair lift ride which was very pretty. Then, the obviously high as a kit ski lift operator decided to give us some further bad information which resulted in bad-knee Jesster hobbling down a now very rocky ski hill, which still had a little snow on it and KIAC decided to smack me with a snowball. Strike 1.

After about an hour of walking downhill in a not-so-walk-down-the mountain outfit of very expensive Lauren sweater, capri jeans, NO sports bra and running shoes (with Coach purse slung over shoulder), we got further information from ski hill workers in a truck that we were headed the wrong way and needed to spend about 15 minutes walking UPHILL to the zip line. At this point, my allergies kicked in and I was beginning to wheeze, huff and puff, I am sure the 8,000 foot altitude might have been a factor. KIAC decides to ask me mid-way back up the hill if this would be an incentive to quit smoking. Nope, but if Utah had the death penalty and I had had access to a firearm, it might have meant off to the cooker for me.

The zip ride was really cool and then we went to the Wasatch Brew Pub for a cold one, complements of KIAC. I thought of Dansting as he probably would have dug it as Wasatch is only distributed in Utah. KIAC had a Polygamy Porter (ick) and I had a yummy Hefe-Weizen, followed by a lovely sweatshirt for Jesster and a Polygamy Porter can cooler for boyfriend. We ate the BEST prime rib at this joint in town and then headed back to SLC.

Today, I almost killed him for a second time, after we got our booth tore down in a record 15 minutes, he decided at 2:15 that it was time to go get some food because he had only eaten at noon, return the rental car and head to the airport. Our crate had to be delivered by the union folks (which only took 1.5 hours to get delivered) and we didn�t know how long it would take so he left. Me. To pack up all the crap in a crate almost taller than me. One of the pieces weighs about 100 lbs. Neato. After giving him the vulcan death stare, he hopped off on his way. Good times in Jessterville as I get to stay until tomorrow so that we make sure that the booth is all tucked away in its crate. That was a bitch and a half as I had to retrieve things from the bottom of it that I could only get at by standing on a step stool thing and going in up to my waist. A good look for whoever was behind me, I am sure, seeing my ass hanging out the booth while my head pokes around the bottom of it.

I almost killed him another time yesterday but decided it was better to use sarcasm to get my point across. When he mentioned that I had a deficiency in geographic knowledge, because I didn�t know whose territory was Utah or Missouri, I mentioned that all my recently acquired knowledge from my MASTERS DEGREE IN BUSINESS was taking up all my brain space, which I have reserved for things that actually matter and that I use on a daily basis instead of memorizing which states belonged to which sales rep. (besides, I only asked him EVERY day to bring our territory map which he forgot EVERY day).

Can you tell I am ready for a vacation?? I can not WAIT to go to Mackinac Island and the UP with Greg/Michelle and Tom/Kindell over the 4th of July.

I feel like I miss so much some times being on the road. Jon is on a bike ride tonight and I am sure it will entail stopping by Leff�s to hang out with my friends after their softball game. I really miss being with Jon, which is probably the hardest part and I miss hanging out with Ann or going to MC�s for dinner with the baby girls or dinner at my parents.

On a positive note, I have a new boss. If you recall, Former Boss (FB), was not on the tops of the popularity charts in Jessterville. FB has now been demoted to sales person and is no longer able to wear the VP title, which I am sure shames him to no end�this is someone who LIVED to introduce himself as the VP. Someone who still wears collarless shirts, sometimes with button covers. Every day, wears a suit and matching pocket square even though if he�s in the office (which is 99% of the time) does not see a single customer. The same one who went on sales calls in my territory 2 weeks ago and whoops never mentioned it to me. Anyway, much to the non-delight of the new VP of sales and the NEW president, he pulled all the sales people into an hour and a half meeting last week to tell us about his job change and all his woes including his dun, dun, dun�surprise-- upcoming divorce. Politically correct move by FB � I think not. New VP (and FB�s new boss) not so happy.

Speaking of divorce, Major Trouble got himself one this weekend, so welcome back to singlehood. Go figure, he�s finally free of his spousal unit and here I am all in love and stuff.

Ok this is WAY too long�thanks for reading!

Jesster

previous - next

Shoes - 2009-04-29
I'm back! - 2009-04-23
She's back.... - 2007-07-25
No longer preggo! - 2006-11-20
Sorry, middle of the night nonsense - 2006-10-28
Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
0 comments so far