Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2006-02-01 - 9:00 p.m.

That�s right, blog readers and readettes. I am back from a wild few weeks of whipping about the country.

Let�s see-I just returned from a long trip to the DC area for a trade show and a few meetings. It was like 68 degrees there!! Ann went with me, it was to put it mildly a very good time. Friday consisted of flying out, going out for lunch (and drinks), getting our nails done, going out for happy hour, napping and then (surprise!) going out on the town with her friend Becky and Becky's friend Lisa. Saturday and Sunday, Ann went to visit Becky and I worked the tradeshow. Then Sunday we went out for some dinner and (are you sensing a trend here?) drinks, including super yummy small plate and wine dining at our hotel with a kick ass Penfolds Bin 389 and then for yummy tapas at a Spanish restaurant in Arlington�.mmmm croquettas and patatas bravas. All I know is that we ended up at a hot spot from Friday, the Crystal City Sports Pub and called it a night only after having KABOB KING. Yep, that's right-us and every taxi driver in town, enjoying a mid-evening snack of kabobs served by Apu and his posse. Monday ended the trade show and I had appointments the last two days.

Can I tell you I almost cried when Ann and I were at the tapas place (called Jaleo if you are in the D.C. area, there are a couple of them). The croquettas were just like the frozen ones that Mart and I used to have when we lived there. NOTHING was as good as the homemade ones but the frozen ones work just fine. It just reminded me of how much I miss Spain and how much fun Rose and I had when we were there THREE stinking years ago. I guess time flies. Maybe I�ll save up the pennies in my wish jar for a return trip, I really want to go to Seville again and maybe Northern Spain. It also made me laugh because when Rose and I went, we would go on these tapa-hunting expeditions, hell I even ate fried pig ears. Anyway, every day almost we would go for brunch at this chain joint, Canas y Tapas, and have ourselves some snacks. Maybe I need to start a Canas y Tapas in the U.S�.Spain is not known for their friendly service so I could just hire a bunch of the kids that work at McDonalds and stuff since they seem to have the oblivious to customer service routine down pact.

What�s my aunt status? Currently zip, zero, nada. Baby E hasn�t gone anywhere much to the chagrin of my sister.

I was in Dayton last week for a couple days, in upstate NY the week before that and Philly the Friday before that. So I guess that makes 4 trips in the month of January, not too shabby, eh? Maybe I�ll even sell something. I think that Feb and March are going to keep me hop-hop-hopping as well.

Jon and I are on-again, off-again. I thought that we were doing something tonight, but since I called him after I got home and he was out with friends and I haven�t heard back, I guess that�s a good sign that we aren�t. I know we have to go our separate ways but I just don�t WANT to. I love him and I know it gets harder and harder if we drag it out. As it stands now, I haven�t seen him in a week and probably won�t all weekend as he has the kidlets.

I did drop my keys in the garbage at the gas station yesterday when I was throwing away a soda can so I got to dig through the gas station garbage for some real fun. It could have been worse as most garbage was fast food bags but there was a little slimy ickiness.

Ok I am sleepy, tired and crabby and sad and wanting chocolate by the large quantities so I guess I am going to call it a night�.ciao!

�

�

previous - next

Shoes - 2009-04-29
I'm back! - 2009-04-23
She's back.... - 2007-07-25
No longer preggo! - 2006-11-20
Sorry, middle of the night nonsense - 2006-10-28
Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
0 comments so far