Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2005-10-17 - 9:47 a.m.

P-A-R-T-Y

Well, Grandpa�s 90th birthday party came off without a hitch. There were a ton of people who showed up for the open house and stayed until the very end. We had to be out of the room by 4-ish and it ended at 3:30 so we were kind of cleaning up as people were still sitting there. I was worried that we wouldn�t have enough food, drinks, etc. We had plenty of food/drink-just a little too much of everything, but a lot too much cheese tray-we had a whole one that we didn�t even use. Otherwise it was a smashing success and he was quite thrilled with everything.

I was a little nervous that there might be some family tension and for the most part, there was not. Our family stayed at a different hotel than the rest of the family so maybe that helped. My oldest uncle was acting like a complete jag, but that�s to be expected. This is the guy who wears 1 of 2 outfits to everything-a red Tommy sweater or a black hound�s-tooth sport coat, but referred to himself in my grandma�s eulogy as a �snappy dresser�. Yeah, most snappy dressers have more than 2 outfits that they have worn for at least the last 10 years (including grandma�s funeral, my wedding and my sister�s wedding). This is the most self-serving person ever. During his �speech�, he mentions not only that he has done a lot of hiring, recruiting and training in his career (as a professional pyramid schemer, I mean multi level marketer) but he has learned from my grandpa that you can�t get anything for nothing (from the guy who has ripped off most of my family including my grandparents and his own child).

Anyway, the dinner was pretty good (at least if you got salmon, apparently not if you got steak or chicken) but 2 people at our table had not-done chicken and my cousin�s son didn�t get his meal for a long time after the rest of us did. So what does Snappy Dresser do? He starts yipping and yapping and I said, hey it�s a restaurant, and that stuff happens. He snaps at me-�I have traveled all over the country my whole life and I know that�. Ok, well, apparently you haven�t learned anything about tact or class. Whatever.

When it comes time to pay me for the party, which I shelled out about $400 for, he tells me he doesn�t have any cash, he�ll have to write me a check tomorrow. How much is it. I said $80-his response-apiece? No, a cake, food, drinks for 150 people plus decorations, plates, cups, napkins usually just run like $80 you idiot. I tell him that I am not going to Grampy�s tomorrow and he says all I have is credit cards. Sorry-I can�t take those. What a dumbass. He knew he was going to have to pay me, all the kids (my dad, aunts/uncles) are splitting the cost of the open house. It had been spelled out clearly and well ahead of time, so whatever. He must have went to his room because he gave me a check, which I shall be running to cash as it�s cashability is probable.

I have 2 free vouchers from a bump I took last year when I went to Omaha for my cousin�s wedding and they had to be booked or lost forever by today(Happy Anniversary Greg and Jenny!) so I am going to Florida in March-yeah!! Ann and I are taking our almost annual pilgramage to West Palm Beach which is always a good time. It�s good because it gives me something to look forward to and a good weight loss goal as well.

previous - next

Shoes - 2009-04-29
I'm back! - 2009-04-23
She's back.... - 2007-07-25
No longer preggo! - 2006-11-20
Sorry, middle of the night nonsense - 2006-10-28
Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
0 comments so far