Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2005-09-06 - 10:45 a.m.

Hello Happy Campers�

Well I made it through Camp-a-rama 2005 II with nary a scratch on me. It was a very good time. I was a little nervous about going camping being a still-in-love, recently single gal going with 5 couples and 1 baby, one of whom includes ex-boy-I dated (and father of said baby).

I guess that I am stronger than I thought�some of my friends have told me that they wouldn�t have gone. I did and I didn�t want to go last week but on the same token, it was a good challenge. My goals were to have fun, enjoy myself, relax, get through the weekend without crying and without calling Jon, and to not throw up. 5 out of 6 ain�t too shabby (guess which one Pukey Pukerson didn�t live up to�)

Friday, Jo, Gary and I drove up to camp-a-rama, got everything set up and waited for the rest of the gang to arrive. I helped with the tacos, chopped up the junk for them and it was a pretty low-key evening, a few beers were had, a couple games were played.

Saturday, we headed into the big town of Wonewoc for some Badger game watching fun. We hung out at the Wooden Shoe, we all threw in about $20 a person for the kitty and that provided us with fun, fun, fun, (and drinks, drinks, drinks), well into the afternoon. I think we came back around 4. Jesster took a little nappy (or passed out, something along those lines), was forced up and into a clean-ish outfit by my friend Joanne. I proceeded to eat a hamburger, and then reversed the process. Needless to say, it was a very low-key evening for me.

Sunday was a fun day. We made breakfast, played games and cards, had some chili for lunch and then played some more cards. Mary, Shep and I headed into town for supplies for the new awesome drinks that Jay made (the Gin Bucket�super yummy!). We stopped for a drink in town, and yip yapped. Mary had a little chat with Shep about the treatment of said girlfriend and her moving here from Denver. Of course, I had to chime in�I don�t know if he�ll listen to what either one of us said but I hope at least it forces him to think about a few things.

It also made me realize that I am glad that things between Shep and I didn�t work out � I have seen how he treats this girl and the casual attitude that he has about sleeping with anything that moves and it is pretty sad. Not that I would put up with being treated like that, but he seems to think he is some type of prize or something� I got news for you buddy-you ain�t all that.

Sunday night, we grilled pork tenderloins on the grill, played some games including my favorite game of slips. It�s a game we made up years ago � someone picks a category, and everyone writes something down about themselves that they think no one will know. Example: Category: Worst Date. I put �my date tried to sell me weight loss supplements�. In the course of 3 or 4 rounds of this game, I laughed harder than I have laughed in a long long time, which is something I really needed. There was a couple there that was �new� to the group and the guy wouldn�t play the game�I thought that was kind of knob-ish, but whatever.


It was interesting from an outsider perspective to watch the interactions of the different couples. 3 of the couples have been dating since about January, one since last time we went camping (and it�s long distance) and the other one I am not sure of� Some of the couples are like hey, babe, can I get you anything, another one seemed to be totally distant, another seemed to be the girl jumping up and getting whatever the guy needed and the other seemed to be distant-ish plus girl jumping. Interesting. I know how I prefer to be treated and how I prefer to treat a boyfriend when I have one and I liked how Mary/Jay and Jo/Gary kind of �take care� of each other. That�s the way it should be. Two of the other couples I saw touch or kiss or whatever maybe once or twice all weekend. I think that the other couple spent most of the weekend having a LOT sex when they weren�t hanging out with the group, which is also kind of weird, because this isn�t really that kind of group and they were new to it.

I also found it interesting who was willing to pitch in and help and who wasn�t � there was one guy who didn�t do jack squat, there was a couple people who would chip in and do anything and everything and most of us were somewhere in the middle. It�s a great group of people because pretty much everyone just does what needs to be done. I did have to call Shep and Kathie out on something � we could only find one dish tub, and didn�t have a separate one to wash in--so he was washing dishes and she was drying them without rinsing the soap off. Gross-when I said something about it, Shep was like oh then you walk them all over to the faucet. Um, ok, not a problem, I would rather do that since it is all of 20 feet away, then make food out of pots and use utensils that taste like soap. Maybe I am being a little harsh but once you are past the age of reason, you should know better than to not rinse the soap off of dishes.

Last night, I saw (note: did not sleep with or mess around with) Jon. It was really hard and I bawled and bawled. He suggested it would help if I find someone else. I said at this point, that would be a little silly � oh hi, I�m Jessie, I am in love with someone else but looking for someone to take my mind off of him. Do you want to meet at Starbucks? Jon thought that was a great idea because he would never go to Starbucks. I told him that the thought of me dating someone else or seeing him with someone else literally made me nauseous. I don�t know if he thought I was kidding or not but I wasn�t. After that, I went to MC�s to get a fix of the baby girls (and the mama) which at that point, my puffy eyeballs and I really needed.

I am so grateful that Gary and Jo really went out of their way this weekend to make me not feel like a fifth wheel...it really helped me feel more at ease and feel better about everything....

Ok this has been quite long enough�hope you made it to the end. Have a great week!

Jess

previous - next

Shoes - 2009-04-29
I'm back! - 2009-04-23
She's back.... - 2007-07-25
No longer preggo! - 2006-11-20
Sorry, middle of the night nonsense - 2006-10-28
Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
0 comments so far