Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2005-07-12 - 10:26 a.m.

Cynical little me

I have decided in the interest of the reader, that my blog needs to turn back into more of a satirical look at life, rather than a play by play of what is probably a boring review of my weekends and life activities.

So here we go�did you know that most cashiers should NOT be allowed to make change with actual money. Today at McDonalds, I got a parfait and a large Diet Coke for a total of $2.47. I gave the lady a $10 bill. She must have punched it in wrong because she was trying to figure it out by hand and came up with $6.53. Well, she must have done something right because the little change thingy popped out the 53 cents, so she just had to figure the bill part of things and was having very little luck doing so. After some convincing, she manually removed another dollar from the till, scooped up my 53 cents that the MACHINE had done for her and I was off on my merry way. Perhaps all types of places that use low-wage labor, not known for their prowess in mathematics, or they would probably be doing something a little more challenging, should start only taking some type of debit card or something.

I remember a few years ago, I bought something at Pick �N Save. The cashier punched in the $20 or whatever while I was digging out the change. I said oh, I have the 3 cents and she wouldn�t take it, as it would �make her drawer off�. I tried using my skills of logical persuasion to no avail. She wouldn�t understand that if she made the right change, it would leave the same amount of money in her drawer. I almost told her she was too stupid to work with money, or went and talked to the �head cashier�, but instead, I just took my $1.97 or whatever and left.

Things in Jessterville have not been particularly rosie lately. I have been in a big, big slump, probably mostly related to my newfound 15 pounds, the fact that at almost 34 I just moved home and that Jon and I are probably going to break up sooner than later. My dad was kind enough to remind me that in just another 15 or so years, I would be 50 and I had better take a look at what I have accomplished financially. Thanks Dad--I did remind him that I have been putting 12% into my 401k which is more than I can say for all his siblings...kind of scary that I have more retirement savings than my aunts and uncles combined, all 8 of whom are in the mid 50's to early 60's age range...

I know that depression or being kind of in a slump or rut is not a subject most people talk about, but given my blog and other internet readings of The Sarcastic Journalist, Natalieville, Post Secret and Suburban Bliss, I am guessing more and more people have pretty interesting lives and goings on in their head. Even though I don�t have kids, I am always entertained by the goings on of Melissa, Natalie and SJ, although Post Secret is REALLY chock full of interesting things.

It seems to be crisis mode for Ann again with the boyfriend and ankle sitatuion . My best palsy walsy of 20-some years, MC�s dad is dying of cancer which makes me very, very sad so please say a little prayer for their family. She just called and told me her folks are meeting with the hospice and of course she was crying which started me a-crying too�kind of puts things in perspective when the biggest decision I have to make today is whether to get my almost daily burrito bowl from Qdoba or Chipotle.

Ok back to the activity I like to call work�I started my new hours today, 7:30 - 4. I think I will like it as I can be at the gym by about 4:20 and beat the rush, although my branch of seems to be super not popular which I love, unlike the Tosa one which is always smashed to smithereens with the beautiful people.

Have a great day--
Jess


�

�

previous - next

Shoes - 2009-04-29
I'm back! - 2009-04-23
She's back.... - 2007-07-25
No longer preggo! - 2006-11-20
Sorry, middle of the night nonsense - 2006-10-28
Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
0 comments so far