Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2005-05-31 - 4:28 p.m.

I am so not a camper

But I fake it once a year and end up having me a good old time. Camp-o-rama went very well�I had more than enough food for the 14 of us and even got a round of applause and a big thanks for planning it all.

Here is the weekend rundown:

Friday: Arrive. Shep, Linda, Joanne, Gary and Jon and I set everything up in the rain- Jon and I�s tents and then Andreas and Ann�s since I am such a nice friend, then Shep�s superdome sized canopy. Unload cars. Drink beer. Go to town for firewood and a couple drinks. Come back and everyone else has arrived. Drink more beer. Stay up until 4 AM yip yapping with everyone. Throw up cheetos (and beer) next to Shep�s camper. My mother would have been proud (not!)

Saturday: French toast breakfast, followed by cleanup which puts us at about noon. About noon, Jon and I head to town for �ice� with Jay/Mary and Shep/Linda. Forget about getting the ice and go barhopping for a while. Boyfriends gets very, very drunk with the help of a very generous bartender. Decide to get serious about ice and return to camp around 5. Stop at rummage sale, drunk boyfriend buys an old-man plaid hat for $1. Make hamburgers and pasta salad, drink much more beer. Go back up to bar for karaoke. Decide I can�t drink anymore, take super stumbling boyfriend back to campsite. Stumbler wakes up in the middle of the night and breaks his 20-some year non-puking streak.

Sunday: Pancake breakfast. Some talk of golfing, doesn�t amount to much. Sit around fire drinking beer and playing games, rain begins, so it�s a good thing we didn�t go golfing. Jon and I head to town to get smokes and end up bar hopping. While leaving the gas station several hours later, we run into one of our camping mates who is walking from town to the campground from bar about 8 miles away after a little disagreement with his honey. Take him to townie bar, meet up with rest of group. Go back to campground bar. Drink until I can�t anymore, go back to campsite, hang out by the fire.

Monday: Wake up way too early, drink many diet cokes, make second annual spaghetti breakfast; clean up camp, pack up and 2 sleepy and sore campers head home with Violet Pilot full of dirt, bugs and stinky camping clothes. Unpack, refold tent and all that jazz, take a much needed shower, take a nap, still in bed by 10:00 last night (not before watching Nanny 911 and Hell�s Kitchen).

Jon wanted to know why the �hot nanny� never visits any of the houses�I really don�t know as I have never seen her in action.

Jon bought the �Taj Mahal� of tents-it�s 14x10� with 2 doors, LED lights, a power port and a divider to make it into 2 rooms. It was plenty of room for the 2 of us and will easily fit Jon�s children and their friends in future camping endeavors.

Tomorrow I go to Atlantic City for a couple days for a tradeshow. I will be staying at the Donald�s Trump Taj Mahal which sucks because I love me some blackjack and I am not too flush at the moment.

On a sad note, my old boyfriend Bryan�s dad died this weekend. Tom was always very nice to me and I just loved his mom Lyn, she is a great lady, so I am sad that it happened but he was in the late stages of diabetes (blindness, dialysis) so his quality of life was not great.

Back to work�hope your memorial day weekend was great!
Jess

previous - next

Shoes - 2009-04-29
I'm back! - 2009-04-23
She's back.... - 2007-07-25
No longer preggo! - 2006-11-20
Sorry, middle of the night nonsense - 2006-10-28
Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
0 comments so far