Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-07-19 - 4:56 p.m.

Better late than never

I was in a sales meeting most of the day so here we go!

Weekend was good. Friday, I made a whole bunch of crap for my party on Saturday, went to MC�s for dinner (amazingly I keep inviting myself and they keep opening the door for me when I show up!) and pretty much behaved myself. Saturday was party-arama. It was fun, weather rocked, we pretty much drank about everything I had to drink including my leftovers from the Buffett concert last week. Hey, a little ice/water and 8 minutes = cold beer. I forgot that little equation. It was fun though. Schlep got there first and it was probably an hour before anyone else showed up and I felt for the first time in a long time that we were back to the way things used to be between us.

Commitment: A pledge to do, the state of being bound emotionally or intellectually to a course of action or to another person or persons.

One of my major pet peeves is when someone commits to something and doesn�t follow through. For example, if you were having a party and said you were making deviled eggs and I said hey, let me help, I�ll bring the deviled eggs, I would bring the deviled eggs come hell or high water. Or if you said of course I�ll be there, you just came to my kid�s graduation party, of course I�ll be at yours and you didn�t bother to show up that would be rude. I guess I have a little different level of obligation to things that I commit to or maybe it�s the ol� Catholic guilt complex or maybe I just need to lower my standards, but it really bothers me when someone either can�t make a commitment to show up at something either way, or just doesn�t show up or bring what they said they would bring. Maybe I am over-reacting but it�s just kind of like saying (without actually saying it) that whatever my agenda was is much more important to me than doing what I said I would do or whatever someone else was counting on me for. I have gotten up at 5:00 in the morning hungover as hell to make stupid yeast rolls from scratch for Thanksgiving dinner or came home at bartime half in the bag and whipped up taco dip because I said I would bring it to something. I am pretty f-ing dependable now that I think about it. Not that I haven�t had my share of f-ups but 99.9% of the time you can count on me.

Let�s take my co-workers�.I invited my sales department. None of them (except Amy the rockstar) could be bothered to make an appearance. Not that big of a deal to me, but I thought I would be nice and extend the offer. My boss and one of them spent all day Saturday at work. Good idea. That sounds like a much better idea than spending some quality time with your kids (who were invited) and hanging out with them at the pool when it�s 80 degrees out. (stepping off my high horse now).

Ok, I am going home to work on my marketing plan for my review w/ the boss tomorrow and make some hot dogs on my new grill�

previous - next

Shoes - 2009-04-29
I'm back! - 2009-04-23
She's back.... - 2007-07-25
No longer preggo! - 2006-11-20
Sorry, middle of the night nonsense - 2006-10-28
Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
0 comments so far