Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-05-05 - 9:57 a.m.

I am very crabby--Saturday would have been my 5th anniversary. The last 2 years, it didn't bother me but this year it has me pretty upset and I can't quite figure out why. Anyway, Ann and I were going to go to dinner downtown and out for a little while. Kathie and Amy were going to go to dinner at like 4:30 (early bird special?) and then go out so we were just going to meet them out at some point. Well, now Amy bailed and Kathie and Ryan (who she is dating) and his friend Tom who Ryan is setting up with Ann (got that?) are going now. Um no. I absolutely refuse to be a part of someone else's set up/double date. I didn�t even want to go out on Saturday, I wanted to stay home and wallow in my self-pity plus my roomie is gone and I rarely get downtime to myself. But Kathie and Ann said no, I should get out and do something fun. Sorry but being a fifth wheel when I am already down in the dumpers is not my idea of a good time. And, for those keeping score at home, no call from Tall boy.

On a positive note, MC and I are going to see Harry Connick, Jr. on Friday. I am quite pumped, he puts on the best show. One of my friends asked me how old I was, because I am seemingly too young for the likes of HC, Jr. I am all for hip music too but he is just a really good musician and super entertaining. Plus he�s not too shabby to look at which is an excellent side bonus.

I went to McDonalds this morning for a large diet Coke which I do a couple of times a week. No food, just a soda. And the drive through was closed for about 9 out of the last 10 times because the delivery truck was there blocking the drive thru. Which kind of negates the use of "drive thru". Maybe they should call it "drive thru unless we are getting a delivery". So in I went. McDonalds really is like the State Fair of restaurants. It brings out a nice cross-section of people, kind of a slice of Americana. So this lady in front of me orders a salad and she is going to have to wait for the chicken (10 min for grilled, 5 for crispy). So she decides to wait. So I pick up my cup and get my soda which I don�t like to do myself, I am never sure how much ice to put in and it doesn�t seem ever be the right ice-soda mixture. Well, I walk out to my truck and the same woman is outside waiting out her salad chicken making time. And she�s lighting up. Now, being a former smoker, I do understand the need to smoke. However, this is kind of paradoxical...you are willing to wait 10 minutes for your grilled chicken bacon ranch salad because you want to eat something healthy then you are outside puffing away on a menthol Capri cig? Doesn�t really make sense to me but ok.

I went out for a beer last night after I finished my paper. Kathie and Amy had softball practice so I met them at Senor Luna�s. Then Shep showed up. It was all right, they had team trivia which is right up my alley. I did get a couple of questions right-I�ll have to load up a team of trivia whizzes and head there another night. I think things between Shep and I as friends will be just fine. I am looking forward to camping, there are about 10 of us going and the girlfriend is no longer going.

I did break down and buy another brazilian�I know that I was adamant about not accepting it but I think it�s actually ok. It doesn�t look any worse than a thong and it is comfortable. I am working on admitting when I am wr. Wrr. Ok I am sometimes like the Fonz�I am wrong. The brazilian is all right. I even bought a bra to match�we shall see how long it takes for it to either kill my back, my shoulders or have the underwire pop. But I am willing to give it a whirl.

Two corrections so far on yesterday's list. I thought "rode hard put away wet" was a boat reference. I would like to thank my former horse-camp attending friend MC for letting me know that this is a horse reference. I really like to be in the know on stuff like this so I appreciate the info. Secondly, I also worked at GE with my good friend Michelle which she pointed out-thanks Mitch--how could I forget the GE group-Laselva, Courto, Neil and Luby...that should be somewhat memorable. So make that 4 jobs.

Ok, Have a happy Cinco de Mayo�

Jess

previous - next

Shoes - 2009-04-29
I'm back! - 2009-04-23
She's back.... - 2007-07-25
No longer preggo! - 2006-11-20
Sorry, middle of the night nonsense - 2006-10-28
Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!
0 comments so far